U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Designates Five New Jersey Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

Impacted Area: New Jersey

Triggering Disaster #1: Excessive rain that occurred during Aug. 21 through Sept. 2, 2021.

Application Deadline: June 7, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Morris, Sussex and Warren

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible
New Jersey: Essex, Hunterdon, Passaic, Somerset and Union
New York: Orange

Pennsylvania: Bucks, Monroe, Northampton and Pike

Triggering Disaster #2: Hurricane Ida that occurred during Sept. 1 through Sept. 2, 2021

Application Deadline: June 7, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible: Hunterdon and Somerset

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible
New Jersey:


Pennsylvania: Bucks

More Resources
On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery Tool, Disaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.