U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

Federal Emergency Management Agency Designates 2 New Hampshire Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

Primary Disaster Areas Located in Maine

This Presidential disaster declaration allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.  

Impacted Area: Maine

Triggering Disaster:  Severe Storm and Flooding

Application Deadline: 03/06/2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Franklin, Kennebec, Knox, Lincoln, Oxford, Sagadahoc, Somerset, Waldo

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Maine: Androscoggin, Aroostook, Cumberland, Hancock, Penobscot, Piscataquis, York

New Hampshire: Carroll, Coos

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

FEMA offers different assistance programs for individual citizens, public groups including government agencies and private nonprofit organizations.  To find the FEMA help you need following a disaster event, visit fema.gov/assistance

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.