U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Designates 5 New Hampshire Counties as Contiguous Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation, or to refinance certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available, and repayment ability.

Triggering Disaster 1:

Impacted Area: Maine

Triggering Disaster: Frost

Application Deadline: March 5, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Androscoggin, Hancock, Oxford, Penobscot, Sagadahoc, Washington

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

New Hampshire: Carroll, Coos


Triggering Disaster 2:

Impacted Area: Massachusetts

Triggering Disaster:  Freeze

Application Deadline: March 11, 2024

Primary Counties Eligible: Berkshire, Bristol, Essex, Franklin, Hampden, Hampshire, Middlesex, Norfolk, Plymouth, Worcester

Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Connecticut: Hartford, Litchfield, Tolland, Windham

Massachusetts: Barnstable, Dukes, Suffolk

New Hampshire: Cheshire, Hillsborough, Rockingham

New York: Columbia, Dutchess, Rensselaer, Suffolk

Rhode Island: Bristol, Newport, Providence

Vermont: Bennington, Windham

More Resources

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Loan Assistance Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.