U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

Official websites use .gov
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.


Secure .gov websites use HTTPS
A lock ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website. Share sensitive information only on official, secure websites.

USDA Designates 21 Utah Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability. 

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for 8 or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional. 

Impacted Area: Utah

Triggering Disaster: Drought

Application Deadline: Dec. 22, 2022

Primary Counties Eligible:

Beaver                                Grand                   Sanpete

Box Elder                           Iron                      Sevier

Carbon                                Juab                     Tooele

Davis                                  Kane                    Uintah

Duchesne                            Millard                Washington

Emery                                 Salt Lake             Wayne

Garfield                              San Juan              Weber


Contiguous Counties Also Eligible:

Utah: Cache, Daggett, Morgan, Piute, Rich, Summit, Utah and Wasatch

Arizona: Apache, Coconino, Mohave and Navajo

Colorado: Dolores, Garfield, Mesa, Moffat, Montezuma, Montrose, Rio Blanco and San Miguel

Idaho: Cassia and Oneida

Nevada: Elko, Lincoln and White Pine

New Mexico: San Juan                                             


More Resources 

On farmers.gov, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local  USDA Service Center.

USDA is an equal opportunity provider, employer and lender.