News Releases

RSS Link
  1. USDA Announces March Income over Feed Cost Margin Triggers Third 2019 Dairy Safety Net Payment

    Wed May 8, 2019 10:19 AM

    WASHINGTON, May 8, 2019 — USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced this week that the March 2019 income over feed cost margin was $8.85 per hundredweight (cwt.), triggering the third payment for dairy producers who purchase the appropriate level of coverage under the new Dairy Margin Coverage (DMC) program.

  2. USDA Accepting Applications to Help Cover Producers’ Costs for Organic Certification

    Tue May 7, 2019 05:46 AM

    WASHINGTON, May 6, 2019 – USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) announced that organic producers and handlers can apply for federal funds to assist with the cost of receiving and maintaining organic certification through the Organic Certification Cost Share Program (OCCSP). Applications for fiscal 2019 funding are due Oct. 31, 2019.

  3. USDA Announces New Decision Tool for New Dairy Margin Coverage Program

    Wed May 1, 2019 05:52 AM

    WASHINGTON, April 30, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue announced today the availability of a new web-based tool – developed in partnership with the University of Wisconsin – to help dairy producers evaluate various scenarios using different coverage levels through the new Dairy Margin Coverage (DMC) program.

  4. USDA Extends Deadline to May 17 for Producers to Certify 2018 Crop Production for Market Facilitation Program Payments

    Mon Apr 29, 2019 12:00 PM

    WASHINGTON, April 29, 2019 – USDA extended the deadline to May 17 from May 1 for agricultural producers to certify 2018 crop production for payments through the Market Facilitation Program (MFP), which helps producers who have been significantly affected by foreign tariffs, resulting in the loss of traditional exports. USDA’s Farm Service Agency (FSA) extended the deadline because heavy rainfall and snowfall have delayed harvests in many parts of the country, preventing producers from certifying acres.

  5. USDA Designates 20 New York Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

    Mon Apr 22, 2019 03:42 PM

    WASHINGTON, April 22, 2019 — Agriculture Secretary Sonny Perdue designated 20 New York counties as primary natural disaster areas. Producers in Albany, Cattaraugus, Chemung, Chenango, Columbia, Delaware, Fulton, Greene, Hamilton, Jefferson, Lewis, Montgomery, Orange, Otsego, Rockland, Schenectady, Schoharie, Steuben, Sullivan and Tioga counites who suffered losses caused by excessive precipitation since July 23, 2018, may be eligible for U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans.