Payment Eligibility

Payment Eligibility

The Agricultural Act of the 1970 established the first payment limitation provisions. Since that time, the payment limitation provisions have been expanded to include:

  • More programs such as commodity, price support, conservation, and disaster assistance
  • Provisions for payment eligibility based on whether a person or legal entity is “actively engaged in farming,” a cash rent tenant, or a foreign person
  • Limitations on the average adjusted gross income (AGI) as a condition of payment eligibility.

Below are links to detail information about the various Payment Eligibility categories available on the FSA Web site:

Actively Engaged in Farming  

Adjusted Gross Income 

Conservation Compliance 

Controlled Substance 

Deceased Person 

Foreign Persons 

Payment Limitations